Hypervisor war in virtual land

Not so long ago (14th of December) Mohammed Fawzi posted a blogpost called Hyper-V vs VMWare. In this post he wanted to put together a comparison of Microsoft’s Hyper-V and VMWare’s ESX (Enterprise). Although I don’t think he accomplished what he wanted to accomplish with that post (comparing the two hypervisors), he managed to accomplish something. And that something is what is not in the article itself, but in the comments beneath it. It started a really firm, mostly technical and sometimes even emotional, response of the community that he was comparing apples with grapes and doing it all wrong.

The replies didn’t even stop at Mohammed Fawzi’s blogpost, but even resulted in new articles stating the faults he made when he compared the two. The writers (Scott Lowe and Jason Boche) of those articles are writers whose blogposts I read with great care and are (in my opinion) really interesting.

This rumble in hypervisor land remembered me at the console wars where fanboys were flaming that their console is the best and the rest of the gaming consoles were rubbish. Although the comments and articles really don’t represent the behaviour of those fanboys flaming about their favourite console, I recognised some of the emotions that appeared and how heavily the community reacted on it.

I myself work a lot with HP equipment and use VMWare ESX as my hypervisor and I think it was the best solution in my situation. Just as with gaming consoles I believe the best hypervisor is the one that fits best in your situation. And above all I like the idea of more than one choice in hypervisor land. It will keep everyone awake and new functions will be developed to have that one unique selling point.

What the community doesn’t need is a break because there isn’t a trustworthy datasource. What the community does need is a factual datasheet comparing the two so that when we have to make that choice or when we have to write that business case we all have the facts. I like to know what Microsoft is doing and how it solves problems with their solution as well as how VMWare does those things. I hope I can learn from that and one day I can use that to my advantage and solve a problem or make the correct decision using all my knowledge.

The only question that remains is: Who is going to make that factual datasheet that is trustworthy?

2 responses to “Hypervisor war in virtual land

  1. From a purely “speeds and feeds” perspective, Alessandro’s Buyer’s Guide (which I had the opportunity to help create) is one of the best resources I’ve seen in a while. Have a look there.

  2. Robbert Jan van de Velde

    Scott:

    I guess you mean the buyer’s guide from virtualization.info. This indeed looks very promising, but since this is still in BETA I don’t know how up to date it is (maybe you can tell us?). Also the upcoming comparison list makes it look like there is still a long way to go to cover all the subjects.

Leave a Reply

