IE Developer Toolbar doesn’t show DOM tree in IE7

To customize the look of a Sharepoint site you can achieve a lot by making a CSS which overrides the standard CSS (on that subject more later). To determine what part of the standard stylesheet I have to override the IE Developer Toolbar is an absolute must have.

However when installing in Internet Explorer 7 it didn’t show me the DOM tree in the left screen. This worked flawless in Internet Explorer 6 so I was a bit surprised about the empty screen.

iedevnodom

I looked around on the internet and though the solution is out there I didn’t see a clear answer. So this is a reminder for myself and hopefully for more people out there looking for the solution. To enable the DOM tree you need to ‘Enable’ the option Script ActivX controls marked safe for scripting. This can be found in Tools > Internet Options > Security Tab > Custom level....

Enable ActiveX

Here you have to scroll down a bit and then you can put Script ActivX controls marked safe for scripting to enable and after you do a restart of Internet Explorer the IE Developer Toolbar should be fully functional.

2 responses to “IE Developer Toolbar doesn’t show DOM tree in IE7

  1. I have it set up like that (ActiveX controls setting shown here), and I still don’t see dom.. it only shows Javascript tags (if there are any inside the , and iframes, that’s it..) this is extremely annoying..

  2. Same problem occurs with me while I was following this steps and it disable my few of the tools too. So can you have remedy for this?

Leave a Reply

